top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristine Anderson

The Hate U Give

Updated: May 15, 2019

“Sometimes you can do everything right and things will still go wrong. The key is to never stop doing right.” Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give

There are not enough words to express how I feel about this book. It was more than simply an enjoyable plot line. It gave me a new view of people, situations, and information around me.

I kept finding myself thinking, "I've never thought of it that way," through the entire book.


Yes, the central plot line centers around what could be a news headline from anywhere in America right now. However, this is about so much more than police brutality. It is how we live with our neighbors, our colleagues, our fellow humans. It is about realizing that people are people. Not a caricature of what we think they are like. It is about standing up for what is right, whether it is the popular thing in our circle or not. It is about finding your voice and knowing when to listen to the voices of those around you.


“That's the problem. We let people say stuff, and they say it so much that it becomes okay to them and normal for us. What's the point of having a voice if you're gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn't be?” Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give



I have not seen the movie, but I can only hope it does the book justice.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page